Imagur by DiM13NSiON: Beautiful Sound


Ten minutes to Imagur by DiM13NSiON makes you realise that this album is created by people with deep understanding of new music. Most of the tracks are inspired by insdutrial sounds and effects good for movies. It is great hearing  the 5-string violin of Thomas McGregor while combining that sound to Cédric They’s U8 Touch guitar. If you are not familiar with these types of guitars then I want you to visit this site.

There are tracks that are hypnotically repetitive like Birth of Shape which, for most part reminds me of Wim Mertens and Philip Glass. Although I am not really well-versed in minimalist music, this can be a good introduction to the genre. But other than that, the eclecticism of the album lends its beauty to many influences. If you a fan of film music then there is something here for you. Of course the closest reference would be those written by Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails.

There are short and long tracks. The longest is Flight Over Ruins clocking at 9:23. The tunes make you forget that this album is only made by two people, as they maximise their instruments’ capacity and adding appropriate effects. I probably played this album several times in one day while taking my computer out in the garden and using good headphones. DiM13NSiON really take you to the next level of audio experience and I wish to hear more from these artists.

Listen to the tracks by clicking this link:

– Cédric Theys: 8-string U8 touch guitar& effects
– Thomas McGregor: 5-string violin
& effects

– All songs improvised by DiM13NSiON
– Edited, mixed & produced by
Cédric Theys
– Mastered by Adrian Benavides

“Numbers & Shapes: Revisited by Rebecca Brandt”Featuring14 remixes

IMG_1802 copy

Numbers & Shapes: Revisited is a dance-floor driven remix album based on Brooklyn based composer, Rebecca Brandt’s debut album Numbers & Shapes.

When an album reaches cult status I always notice a certain kind of tribute given to it. This happened to Sarah McLachlan which resulted to Remixed in 2001. To have a remixed album dedicated to a certain artist is not common. I think it is a win- win idea. It promotes the album to a wider audience (electronic/dance/club) and it also gives us the works of the DJs and producers involved.
I wrote a previous blog on Numbers & Shapes(released in 2012) by Rebecca Brandt. I just found out that it received a top-25 shortlist nomination at the 2013 Grammy Awards. According to Brandt:

A newly-formed label Green Village took notice and pitched the idea of curating a remix album based on the original pieces, and thus our new baby was born, “Numbers & Shapes: Revisited.” It features 14 remixes from different producers and DJs from around the world, including Starkey, Policy, Liondub, Rabit and more. The project had no guidelines or expectations – we just wanted to create dance floor-driven tracks built off classical elements, to try to challenge and play with the rules of genre and have some fun.
I think this is a good idea as it will open doors for her to new fans. The album is set to be released on March 3 on Bandcamp. I love what I heard on the preview! This is intelligent dance music set around her original tunes. I am posting the sample here so you can listen and buy the album when it comes out!