Hello World by John Munnelly

Hello WORLD CD Music by John Munnelly aka ‘LaughJohnLaugh’Artist: John Munnelly

Album: Hello World

Genre: Alternative rock

Sounds like: Melodic pop rock in the vein of The Cranberries, Lifehouse and The Proclaimers.


HELLO WORLD – Track Listing

  1. We should go blind
  2. People Die
  3. Nowhere Without You
  4. Legends
  5. Did I leave the cubicle
  6. Make my move real soon
  7. Price of the medicine
  8. Disappointed Me
  9. Things Change
  10. Mess Up
  11. Father (why’s it such a secret?)

2 Bonus Tracks are on some releases – (Download Card/Online/CD)

The Bum Song

From the onset of the first track We Should Go Blind, listeners know right away they are in for an exciting and catchy sonic ride. Hello World is the new album from this New York based singer/songwriter by the name of John Munnelly who originally came from Ireland. The carrier single is called Legends which is about finding that greatness in ourselves that make us legends in our own right.

I have to admit his vocal style of yodeling on high notes really works because he reminds me of how a uilleann pipe sounds like when it becomes human. The second track People Die continues the build up with its harmonies and also delicious drums. I think I already know this song by heart because it is easy to sing along with. Big nod to the guitar solo.

The production is flawless. Hello World is a recording of high quality collection of musicians and production team. “I’d rather be in Ireland hiking in the rain’..goes the first verse off Nowhere Without You. It has an echo of old Cranberries albums.It highlights John’s breezy and easy rock vocal style coupled with really awesome melodies. He is clearly a songwriter of everyday scenes. When he writes a song it feels like you are living inside it because his prose is detailed without being sickeningly sweet.

We Are Legend is a perfect single because it is radio friendly taking focus on social commentaries. It is a wonderful pop song of the times. This is something radio has been missing for a long time. It seems that Hello World makes one believe in the transforming power of alternative ballads again. Did I Leave the Cubicle is a track you might have heard of before the release of this album as John already uploaded this on youtube but to hear this among the mix is a good thing.

All of the tracks off Hello World are solid and deserve multiple spins. There are comedic things(which he is good at) in songs like Make My Move Real Soon, Things Change and of course the very popular Does My Bum Look Big in This? I’d say you give Hello World a spin and I know John Munnely will be the name that sticks in your ears for a long time.


You can now buy Hello World from itunes. : https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/hello-world/id662903275

The only thing is that itunes doesn’t have the bonus tracks like the bum song (released as a single 2012) but they are available and included as extras via download on his site: http://johnmunnellymusic.com/hello-world-cd/

You can also check out my interview with John Munnelly which appeared in Expats Post:http://expatspost.com/entertainment/music/john-munnelly-on-music-and-comedy/

Additional links:

VIDEOS on youtube.com
BLOG laughjohnlaugh.com

Winner of the ASCAP Jay Gorney Songwriting Award for a ‘song with a social conscience’.